The winning companies of the 2018 Sustainable Business Awards (SBA) were announced today in the presence of Minister of National Development Planning of Indonesia, Pak Bambang Brodjonegoro. Nearly 60 of Indonesia’s largest companies and SMEs entered the awards, making it a record year for Indonesian companies. (Full list of winners below)

Organised by Global Initiatives, the awards 6th edition is run in collaboration with PwC, Bappenas, Indonesia Business Council for Sustainable Development (IBCSD), Control Union, Kigali Cooling Efficiency Programme (K-CEP), Indonesia Business Coalition for Women Empowerment (IBCWE) and CNBC Indonesia. This year marks the start of an official partnership with Bappenas to take the SBA to the next level.

The Sustainable Business Awards is the region’s leading sustainable award platform since 2012 recognising outstanding leadership in sustainable business practices. “The Sustainable Business Awards is not only ceremonial, but it demonstrates the leadership and creativity to innovate collectively for a more sustainable and inclusive future. In the end, the winnings not only belong to one person or one company, but also to others, your stakeholders. And this is what creates the spirit of the company.” remarked by Shinta Kamdani, President, IBCSD.

At the core of the SBA is a strong message of sustainability. As remarked by Marina R. Tusin, President Director, PwC Consulting Indonesia, “Sustainability is not an end, but a journey; A journey that continues to strive to build and improve prosperity with Economic, Social and Natural Capital; A journey to provide to the future generations, our own children and grandchildren, a sustainable life; A journey to leave our footprints and legacy, that we, as business, public service, broader community, want to leave behind to the next generation.”

SBA awards businesses through a rigorous assessment on practices with a methodology that scores both process and performance across the following 11 categories; Strategy and Sustainability Management; Workforce; Community; Energy Management; Water Management; Waste Management and Material Productivity; Supply Chain Management; Land-Use and Biodiversity; Business Responsibility and Ethics, Stakeholder Engagement and Materiality and the UN SDGs.

An advisory panel advised on the winners; Bayu Krisnamurthi, Former Deputy Minister of Trade and Agriculture, Chairman, Indonesian Society of Agricultural Economics; Christophe Bahuet, Indonesia Country Director UNDP; Endy Bayuni, The Editor in Chief, The Jakarta Post; Erna Witoelar, Founder, Chairperson and Governing Board Member, KEHATI Foundation; Irhoan Tanudiredja, Territory Senior Partner, PwC Indonesia; Shinta Kamdani, President, IBCSD; Tony Gourlay, Chief Executive Officer, Global Initiatives

Here are the list of the winners:

Overall winner – Vale Indonesia


Winners of Sustainability Categories:

Best, Strategy & Sustainability Management – Holcim

Special Recognition, Strategy & Sustainability Management – Bayer Indonesia

Best Workforce –  Vale Indonesia

Special Recognition, Workforce – Trakindo Utama

Best Sustainability in the Community – Corteva Agriscience

Special Recognition, Sustainability in the Community – United Tractors

Best Energy Management – Pertamina

Special Recognition, Energy Management – Ispat Indo

Best Water Management – Multi Bintang

Special Recognition, Water Management – Asia Pulp and Paper

Best Waste and Material Productivity – Multi Bintang

Special Recognition, Waste and Material Productivity – Kreskros

Best Supply Chain Management – H&M Indonesia

Special Recognition, Supply Chain Management – Astra International

Best Land Use and Biodiversity – Rimba Makmur

Special Recognition, Land Use and Biodiversity – Chevron Indonesia

Best Business Responsibility & Ethics – Vale Indonesia

Special Recognition, Business Responsibility & Ethics – APRIL Group

Best Stakeholder Engagement & Materiality – Asia Pulp and Paper

Special Recognition, Stakeholder Engagement & Materiality – Pertamina

Best UN SDGs – APRIL Group

Special Recognition, UN SDGs – Pertamina


Winners of Special Categories:


Best Newcomer – Cargill

Best Flagship Initiative – Astra International

Special Recognition, Flagship Initiative – Bayer Indonesia

Special Recognition, Social Enterprise –

  1. Kreskros
  2. 8villages


Winners of New 2018 Award Categories:

Best Cooling Efficiency Award – Ispat Indo

Special Recognition – Cooling Efficiency

  1. i)          Nestle Indonesia
  2. ii)         United Tractors


Best Sustainability in Journalism Award – Erwan Hermawan, Tempo Magazine.

Special Recognition for Sustainability in Journalism Award – Hans Nicholas Jong, Mongabay Indonesia

Special Recognition for Sustainability in Journalism Award – Safrin La Batu, The Jakarta Post

"Pursuing sustainable development makes companies more competitive, more resilient and adaptable in a fast-changing world, and more prepare for the future."